for Neptune.

In honor of the many evenings in high school that I spent replicating Sailor Moon imagery and the moments in class doodling more Sailor Moon symbols and doodles on many notes to pass in the hall, I decided to revisit my past while experimenting in the world of watercolor and gouache.  I made this as a Christmas present for my best friend from high school who came to discover, adore, and obsess over the unique stylings of Japanese animation at the same time I did.

I’ve always thought that a portion of the beauty lies in the process, so I also decided to document some of the layers and the transformation of my workspace as the image revealed itself.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. April
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 04:18:32

    You’re amazing. You should know.

    Reply

  2. Jon
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 01:46:35

    She’s pretty fantastic. So are you.

    This makes me want to bring out the paints this summer. It’s been too long.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

