effortless emerald.

For my St. Patrick’s Day manicure, I wanted a nice emerald green with a little something extra.  I don’t have many greens for some reason, so I picked up Wet N Wild’s Sagreena the Teenage Witch while I was at the drugstore.  While I was pleased with the emerald green shimmer, I knew I wanted something a little more exciting to top it off with.  A few days later, I was scouring Sally’s clearance rack for fun and I came across a much reduced bottle of China Glaze’s Zombie Zest which I’ve always been curious about.  After purchasing it, I curiously tested a thin layer of it over the existing emerald green and I was thrilled at the result.  The eerie, murky green glass flecks of Zest added a meadow-reminiscent idyllic depth to the deep green base.

The featured sculpture is a vintage flower frog for flower arranging that I picked up at an antique store.  I love the color and the whimsical design of a nude woman riding a fish on stylized, cresting waves.  She’d probably be worth more if she weren’t broken, but alas, she was in such a condition when I purchased her.  It reminds me of the porcelain people in the Wizard of Oz who were afraid to run for fear of falling and breaking and never being the same due to the cracks the irrevocable damage would cause.  I happen to find her enchanting all the same.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. April
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 04:16:46

    Ohh, I so love it.

    And, like the green items in “The Return to Oz.”

    Reply

  2. Theadora Brack
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 12:50:44

    Pretty! GREEN with envy. I love it! Cheers, Theadora

    Reply

Leave a Reply

