lacquer & watercolor: angora muse

In the process of trying to come with some new ideas for my site header, I was experimenting with the idea of combining my love of nail lacquer and watercolor.  I was considering using the polish itself to paint with and combine the viscous shiny lacquer with the thin translucencies of watercolor, but I ended up simply being inspired by the color of the polish itself and wanted to express the color through a mix of watercolor drips.

This left me with a combination of polish swatches and paint to share with you.  I selected a few of my more favorite cream finishes from my collection that I thought went well together.

First is Barielle’s Aura Angora from their 2010 fall The Style in Argyle collection.  It’s a golden mustard with hints of burnt rusty brown to it.  It’s one of those colors I don’t think is explored enough in the nail polish world.  I find a great brown-toned muted yellow like this can be very chic while being subdued and neutral.  I’d happily pair this color with many other colors which is why I chose it for this exercise.

It’s a shame that my fingers are showing up so pink as this color works well with my light olive coloring, but I think I was pressing my finger too hard against the paper to take a picture.  Oops.  Also, this polish is fully glossy despite the illusion of a matte tip.  That’s just an interesting side effect of reflecting the very textured matte paper.

Another favorite color of mine is the place where rich blue and bright green converge into nice deep teal.  The best version of this color I’ve seen in a polish is Illamasqua’s Muse from their Sirens collections.  Not only was the color what I consider the perfect teal, the name of the polish and the collection  added to my enjoyment of the polish.  These things shouldn’t matter, but names can encourage attraction.  This is the only Illamasqua polish I own, but the consistency is wonderful and this works well in one simple coat.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nailsNAILED
    Feb 24, 2012 @ 18:52:13

    That watercolour is gorgeous! I just rediscovered watercolours, I forgot how awesome they were! The header looks really nice, as well.

    Reply

  2. miremusings
    Feb 24, 2012 @ 19:26:28

    Hehe. It’s rotating headers. I have no idea which you saw. I have 4 now. 😀

    Thanks, and you should try being inspired by some of your favorite colors too. It’s a fun mixing exercise.

    Your blog looks like some great swatch fun as well!

    Reply

  3. April
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 20:54:13

    Your header looks awesome!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

