lacquer & watercolor: cattitude and chopsticking

Another color I have always really liked is OPI’s Chopsticking to  my Story from their spring 2010 Hong Kong collection.  It’s a bold rusty orange that treads the line between being richly saturated and somehow subdued enough to be warm and sophisticated and not overly vivid like orange has a tendency to be.  I feel a broad spectrum of colors from this shade and felt as if it is able to leak rusty brown that fades into yellow hues onto the paper.

I decided to pair the brown-leaning red orange with a soft yet bright version of its complementary color for a bold combination.  I eagerly selected OPI’s What’s with the Cattitude? from their summer 2010 Shrek collection, and it was the nail polish that got me back into nail polish as I have gushed about before.  I had gone for a manicure on a rare whim and fell in love with this crisp light blue.  It reminded me of when I was in high school and lusted after elusive pastel shades.  After wearing this shade for a week, I purchased it for myself, and that was the beginning of the end.  This is still my favorite pastel-leaning blue.  It’s so clean and saturated while still feeling light, fresh, and vibrant.  I liked playing with some pinkish-violet tones nearby to accent the crisp blue hue.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. megis217
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 19:29:53

    I love your pictures!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

